June 13, 2024

President Bola Tinubu has not yet fulfilled the constitutional provision of submitting names of ministerial nominees to the Senate for screening and confirmation, despite having four days left before the 60-day deadline expires. Tinubu was sworn in as President on May 29, succeeding former President Muhammadu Buhari.

Multiple sources in the Senate confirmed that they have not received the final list of ministerial nominees. It was previously reported that the list was ready but needed some adjustments from the President. Four names initially penciled down by Tinubu for ministerial positions were reportedly withdrawn and replaced with new names.

The delay in submitting the final list is attributed to opposition against the nomination of former governor of Kano State, Abdullahi Ganduje, for a ministerial slot. Ganduje is also considered a potential replacement for Senator Abdullahi Adamu as the national chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC). The opposition to Ganduje’s nomination has caused a crisis within the APC as some party members argue that Senator Tanko Al-Makura from the North-Central region would be a better choice.

Due to the ongoing intrigues surrounding the APC chairman position, the ministerial list was not submitted to the Senate as expected last week. Although there were speculations that the list had been forwarded, a highly placed source clarified that the final list of ministerial nominees is still pending.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *