June 13, 2024

On Wednesday, during a session chaired by Speaker Mudashiru Obasa, the Lagos State House of Assembly was unable to grant confirmation to 17 out of the 39 cabinet nominees submitted by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu for consideration.

Speaker Obasa, presiding over the plenary, expressed that the confirmation process was the outcome of a thorough and comprehensive assessment conducted by a specially appointed committee led by Chief Whip Fatai Mojeed.

Obasa lauded the committee’s efficiency and advised the confirmed candidates to constantly bear in mind their responsibility to the populace of the State rather than specific individuals. He also assured the commitment of the House to act in the State’s best interests.

The confirmation procedure relied on a vocal consensus, with Speaker Obasa reading out the names of each nominee. Nevertheless, the assembly turned down the nomination of 17 individuals.

Among those who received confirmation are Layode Ibrahim, Mr Mobolaji Ogunlende, Dr Dolapo Fasawe, Bola Olumegbon, and others. Conversely, those whose nominations were not endorsed encompass Mrs Folashade Adefisayo, Prof. Akin Abayomi, Mr Yomi Oluyomi, and several more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *